New painting added!! Syphilis – see Gallery

Syphilis is one of my all time favourite paintings which I did for my Graduation show (quite some time ago now!). I took inspiration from my all time favourite film genre -Horror, in particular THE VAMPIRE! I was working on a study at the time based around female prostitution and their representation within Victorian society. I found it interesting that this representation had many similarities to the cinematic representation of the Vampire. The bite, blood, lust and the idea that both were seen as a bringing disorder to a ‘pure’ and ‘moral’ patriarchal society. The cinematic vampire of last century had many features which could have been perceived as being feminine and foreign and therefore ‘demonised’. I used the metaphor of the sexually transmitted disease Syphilis to suggest these similarities and to question the position of female sexuality within our societies of history and the modern day. Now – this painting looks FAB in my dining room!

3 thoughts on “New painting added!! Syphilis – see Gallery

  1. You didn’t mention that you got a Desmond Tutu whilst you were doing your degree show did you? Good drinkers degree that

Leave a Reply

